Resources

Building a house requires a tremendous number of decisions.

From doorknobs to window trim, you will have to choose what works best for your custom design and lifestyle.

Of course, working with an AIA architect is extremely helpful because not only will the house be designed specifically for you, recommendations will be made and products will be specified to fit your unique lifestyle. Still, you have to make the final decision.

Below are direct links to major brands as well as other Websites we have found helpful for the custom building process.

APPLIANCES

Amana Appliances www.amana.com
Bosch USA www.boschappliances.com
Frigidaire Home Products www.frigidaire.com
General Electric www.geappliances.com
Jenn-Air (brand of Maytag) www.jennair.com
KitchenAid www.kitchenaid.com
Maytag Corporation www.maytag.com
Sub-Zero Freezer Co. www.subzero.com
Thermador www.thermador.com
Viking Range Corp. www.vikingrange.com
Whirlpool Corp. www.whirlpool.com
Wolf Appliance Co. www.wolfappliance.com

ARCHITECTURE

American Institute of Architects www.aia.org
American Institute of Architects – Connecticut Chapter www.aiact.org

CABINETS

Allmilmo www.allmilmo.com
Crystal Cabinet Works www.ccworks.com
Dutch Made Custom Cabinetry www.dutchmade.com
Fieldstone Cabinetry www.fieldstonecabinetry.com
Kennebec www.kennebeccompany.com
KraftMaid Cabinetry www.kraftmaid.com
Plain & Fancy Custom Cabinetry www.plainfancycabinetry.com
SieMatic www.siematic.com
Quality Custom Cabinetry www.qcc.com
Wood-Mode Fine Custom Cabinetry www.wood-mode.com

DECKING

Fiberon Composite Decking www.fibercomposites.com
Trex Company www.trex.com

DOORS (see also window companies)

Pella Corporation www.pella.com
Therma-Tru www.thermatru.com

HOUSE PLANS

Cool House Plans Co., The www.coolhouseplans.com
ePlans.com www.eplans.com
Frank Betz Associates www.frankbetz.com
Global House Plans www.globalhouseplans.com
Plan Collection, The www.theplancollection.com
Scholz Design www.scholzdesign.com

LIGHTING

Progress Lighting www.progresslighting.com

MAGAZINES

Fine Home Building www.finehomebuilding.com
This Old House www.thisoldhouse.com
Traditional Home www.traditionalhome.com

SUPERSTORES

Home Depot www.homedepot.com
Lowe’s www.lowes.com

WINDOWS

Andersen Corporation www.andersenwindows.com
Marvin Windows and Doors www.marvin.com
Pella Corporation www.pella.com